Pfc. Sherlye Garcia

Unit: 54th Quartermaster Company, 11th Transportation Battalion, 7th Transportation Brigade (Expeditionary)

Hometown: Lancaster, Calif.

Age: 19

Time in service: one year

Military occupational specialty: 92M – mortuary affairs specialist.  According to www.goarmy.com, the mortuary affairs specialist “performs duties relating to deceased personnel, including recovery, collection, evacuation and establishment of tentative identification. They also inventory, safeguard and evacuate personal effects and serve as recovery specialists at the Army Central Identification Laboratory in Hawaii.”

Pastimes: “I usually draw, paint and watch TV.”

Describe your personality: “I’m more of a quiet person, but when I need to talk, I talk.”

Pet peeves: “People who are hypocrites.”

Your dream car: “I honestly don’t have a dream car. As long as it runs, that works for me.”

Favorite quote: “You didn’t make it this far just to make it this far.” (Author Mick Kremling)

If you won the lottery … “I would invest the money.”

The talent you wished you had: “Singing. I could just break out singing anywhere knowing I’m good at it.”

Biggest accomplishment: “Being where I am right now (in her career). I graduated high school, and I’m in the Army. A lot of people can’t say that. Hopefully, I can stay in and see where it takes me.”

If you could do anything anywhere right now, what and where would that be? “I would probably fly back home.”

What would surprise people about you? “Probably the fact that when I get comfortable with someone, I let loose; I’m more vocal and talkative.”

When and where were you the happiest? “Probably, when I was at the doctor and found out I was having a boy (Garcia is pregnant with her first child). I had a preference. It made me happy.”

One person you admire: “My mom – just from hearing about the stories of her childhood (Garcia’s mother grew up in Mexico) and all she’s been through and how rough it was. Also the fact she, along with my dad, raised me and my siblings says how far she’s come.”

One life-changing event: “When my mom was diagnosed with cancer (when Garcia was 14 years old). She was going through treatment (out of town), and I had two younger sisters, so I took it upon myself to kind of raise them on my own. I was a freshman in high school, and I had to drop my sisters off at my aunt’s house and then pick them up (after school). Then I had to feed them. I also had chores and helped with the bills. My dad was working all the time, and my older brothers … well, they’re boys.  It was a lot of responsibility. I cried at night and put up a front (during the day).”

 

Why you joined the Army: “To go to school. Right now, I’m working toward a degree in biological sciences.”

What it means to wear the uniform: “Getting the job done and doing what I need to do as a Soldier.”

Why you chose your MOS: “I asked my recruiter for something in forensic science and this was, like, the only MOS open that had something to do with that.”

Biggest challenge of your job: “Probably, being comfortable with death. I view it as a job, but others have a more personal and deep connection with it.”

What is leadership to you? “Leadership is putting others before yourself; getting the job done; doing what you can any way you can, and setting an example for others to follow.”   

What you expect from your peers: “To do what’s right.”

What you dislike about your job: “The amount of downtime we have.”

Your goals: “Get my degree, hopefully open some type of business, invest in different places and try to build something.”