Americas Military Taylor.jpg

FORT LEE, Va. -- Name: Spc. Dominque Taylor

Unit: Headquarters and Headquarters Company, Army Logistics University Support Battalion

Military occupational specialty: 42A – human resources specialist

Age: 31

Hometown: Aliceville, Ala.

Time in service: five years

Describe your personality: “I’m shy and kindhearted; I treat people the way I want to be treated. I like to laugh and I can get a little silly. I’m also persistent at anything I do. My weakness is that I’m an emotionally driven person. I’m the type who can’t hide my feelings.”

Pastimes: “I like to shop and watch TV.”

Worst fear: “I have this perception: if you say your fears out loud, negative energy will grab ahold of it and make it come true.”

Dream car: “A Range Rover.”

Favorite book: “‘The Diary of Anne Frank.’ It’s my favorite because she was very poetic. She was an emotional person, and very raw with her feelings.”

Something no one would guess about you: “I like to sing. I don’t do it in public, but I do around my husband. I also like to write poetry.”

The celebrity or historical figure you would like to meet: “I would maybe like to meet Malcolm X. He was very set on his ways, was all for the movement (to elevate African-Americans), and didn’t try to water things down.”

If you won the lottery … “I would pay off my student loans and help my family.”

Your ideal life: “Being financially comfortable, seeing the same for my family, and being a good mother and wife.”

One person you most admire: “I’m going to say my mom because she took care of all her siblings – she was the oldest of eight. She has always been very family oriented.”

When you have been most satisfied: “Whenever I’m with my family.”

Something that changed your life: “Growing up shy. I always thought people would like me because I was a good person – I didn’t bother other kids or talk about them – but that wasn’t the case. It was sort of a reality check. Just because you’re kind, it doesn’t mean the world is always going to be kind to you. You have to prepare yourself and have thick skin for the things you might face on a daily basis.”

Talk about your upbringing: “I’m from a small town in west Alabama; maybe 500 people live there. I grew up with two sisters and a brother. I wouldn’t say we were poor; more like working class. I spent a lot of time with my grandmother and grandfather. My grandfather was a happy person who I never saw mad or sad about anything. I think that rubbed off on me. He taught me how to cook, too.”

Your aspirations growing up: “I didn’t do what I wanted to do. I didn’t think I would end up in the military. I thought I would become a journalist (laugh), but the counselor at school said, ‘Oh, they don’t make any money.’ I changed my mind and went to school for respiratory therapy. It didn’t work out too well … I changed my mind a lot. I was indecisive. That’s kind of why I’m here.”

Your expectations when you joined the Army: “I feel like my overall goal is in sight (she said in reference to service-connected opportunities to advance her education). I’ll be finished with college next year.”

Why you chose your MOS: “I’m majoring in criminal justice, but I chose human resources because it was one of the choices provided.”

You were deployed to Afghanistan last year. Share a pleasant memory: “My noncommissioned officer – (now retired) Air Force Master Sgt. April Braswell – was a happy person who was always upbeat. She also was a single mother, had more than 20 years of service and was always helping me out. She inspired me to go back college.”

Best things about the Army: “Traveling, meeting new people and the benefits.”

Worst thing about the Army: “It’s not really the Army in general, but some of the people who abuse their rank.”

Where you see yourself in five years: “I want stability, a home and a career path I know I’m going to stick with – maybe something working with juveniles.”