Spc. Elizabeth Vazquez

Unit: 54th Quartermaster Company, 11th Transportation Battalion, 7th Trans. Brigade (Expeditionary)

Military occupational specialty: 92A – automated logistical specialist. According to www.goarmy.com, these personnel are primarily responsible for supervising and performing management or warehouse functions in order to maintain equipment records and parts.

Age: 22

Hometown: Houston

Time in service: Four years

Describe yourself: I would say I’m a nice person and try to be positive toward people at all times. Sometimes, I’m too trustworthy and gullible, and my kindness can be taken for weakness.”

How you spend your free time: “I’m actually in college right now. I also like watching TV.”

Your thoughts about the COVID-19 crisis: “I think it is something people should take seriously; it is affecting everything. I also think there’s a lot of uncertainty involved, and we should all be extra careful in how we handle ourselves.”

Worst fear: “Failing professionally.”

Favorite quote: “All things through God are possible.”

Dream car: “A Mercedes Benz AMG.”

Pet peeve: “Negative people.”

Your greatest achievement: “Being in college because it took me a little while after high school to start. My major is political science.”

When and where were you the happiest? “I would say whenever I’m home with my family.”

The person you most admire: My oldest sister, Nancy. In my opinion, she’s really smart, knowledgeable about a lot of things and has accomplished a lot in her profession.”

The celebrity or historical figure you’d like to meet: “President John Kennedy – I feel like he had a short life, and I think it would be interesting to see how his plans might have played out.”

One life-changing moment: “Leaving Texas to live in Illinois (with her Navy husband). It was my first time being away from my family. I had to really grow up and learn a lot on my own.”

You are in the married couples program with your husband who is not assigned to Fort Lee; talk about the challenges: “It is tough. For one, we have to drive a lot because we are stationed apart (he is based in Norfolk).”

Talk about your childhood: “I grew up very traditionally. I have an older sister and two younger brothers, and we lived on the outskirts of Houston. I had a good childhood. We would travel and take family vacations. It was pretty ordinary.”

Why you joined the Army: “I needed direction in my life. I needed something to kind of show me what I needed to be.”

Why you chose to be an automated logistical specialist: “It was recommended to me.”

Do you have any regrets about your MOS decision? I kind of do. It is difficult to get promoted because there are so many people in my MOS. I’m making do. If I had to do it over, from what I’ve seen, I probably would choose 27D – paralegal specialist.”

Describe your job: “On a day-to-day basis, I work in maintenance. I have to make sure vehicle parts are ordered, and I pick parts, turn in parts and file paperwork.”

What you dislike about your job: “The paperwork. There’s way too much of it.”

What you love about your job: “There’s always something different to learn. We use the program GSCC-Army (a logistics information system), and every 92A I meet has something different to show me; a different way of doing stuff. It’s very versatile, I would say.”

What you expect from leaders: “To provide me with guidance and anything I would need to mold me into a better leader.”

Best thing about the Army: “I would say meeting people from different walks of life.”

Worst thing about the Army: “That it never stops. It’s always moving.”

Where you see yourself in five years: “I plan to still be in the Army. I would like to go somewhere overseas with my husband.”