Americas_Military-SPC_CancelVega.jpg

Unit: 54th Quartermaster Company, 10th Transportation Battalion, 7th Trans. Brigade (Expeditionary)

Military occupational specialty: 42A – human resources specialist

Age: 28

Hometown: San German, Puerto Rico

Time in service: Two years active duty; six years in the Puerto Rico National Guard

Describe yourself: “Friendly and helpful.”

How you spend your free time: “I like playing basketball with my son.”

Talk about your upbringing: “I have two sisters and grew up in the country. We didn’t have a lot. We climbed trees, went to the river and played with cousins. Everything was family.”

Music on your playlist: “It’s all Spanish-speaking music: Daddy Yankee, Aventura, etc.”

Worst fear: “Heights.”

If you won the lottery … “I’d buy a house for my family and my mom, pay my bills, buy a car and put everything else in savings accounts for the kids.”

Pet Peeve: “When I’m speaking Spanish, and someone else says they don’t like it.”

What would surprise people about you? “When I tell people I have three kids.”

If you could do anything, anywhere at this very moment, what and where would that be? “I would go back to Puerto Rico to spend time with my parents.”

One person you admire: “I would say my dad. I always look (up to) him for what he did for us. He taught me everything I know, and every time I have to make hard decisions, I always talk to him; he breaks it down to me. Anytime I need something, he’s always there.”

A life-changing event: “When my (youngest) daughter was born. Every time I see her, I feel so blessed. I was living away from my wife (when) the other two (were born). With this one, we lived together, and I was there through the pregnancy to the time she was born.”

Why you joined the Army: “I had an apartment before (becoming an active duty Soldier), and I wasn’t doing well with my bills and everything. I joined so my family could have a house to live in and more stability.”

Factors in choosing your MOS: “I was infantry for six years in the National Guard, and we went to the field a lot. When I went active duty, I decided I didn’t want to be in the field as much. I had a friend who told me about 42A. I looked at it and decided to do it.”

What you love about your job: “As a 42A, you learn a lot about everything in the Army, and you get to help people (with) things they don’t know. When I was in the National Guard, no one taught me any of the things I know now.”

What you do not like about your job: “Some of the people are lazy, and they expect me to do things they should do.”

Best thing about the Army: “For me, the fact you can go to college for free.”

Worst thing about the Army: “You don’t get paid overtime.”

Where you see yourself in five years: “Hopefully, as a staff sergeant with a degree.”