America's Military

Spc. Kellysha Fahn is a mortuary affairs specialist assigned to the 54th Quartermaster Company, Fort Lee, Va.

Position: 92M, mortuary affairs specialist

Unit: 54th Quartermaster Company, 11th Transportation Battalion, 7th Trans. Brigade (Expeditionary)

Hometown: Ewing, N.J.

Age: 22

Time in service: Three years

Describe your personality: “I’m bubbly, caring, smart, and I’m afraid of failure. Whenever I’m doing something – even for the first time – I’ll try to do it the best I can. If I don’t do it right, it upsets me so much.”

Typical activities during off-duty time: “I’m watching TV, I’m cooking and cleaning, and I’m taking (college) classes.”

Dream car: “Audi A3.”

Worst fear: “Dying and not really accomplishing anything.”

Pet peeve: “I hate it when people don’t follow through with what they say.”

What you dislike most: “The fact I’m afraid to try things because I think I’m going to fail at it.”

Talk about your upbringing: “I was born in Haiti, but I moved to the United States at the age of 3 with my dad/grandpa’s side of the family. We all lived together. It was me, my dad, aunt, and my grandma and grandpa. (Fahn’s mom still lives in Haiti). I love how close-knit my family was during my childhood. We’d have parties and everyone from the block would come. Now, we don’t have any more parties.”

One person you admire: “My dad (Mackington Joseph). I admire him because he sets a goal and accomplishes it. He’s the only one in my family with a doctorate. He put himself in so much debt so he could get where he wanted to be.”

What you believe in: “I believe in God, but I also believe in hard work.”

The place and time you were happiest: “I was happiest in basic training. I felt like I was at my peak. I felt strong, fit and I was running five miles and not feeling tired. I had so much motivation. I felt like I was at my best.”

The celebrity or historical figure you would like to meet: “(NBA basketball player) LeBron James. He works so hard. That’s my thing. He does it all. I don’t watch basketball, but I want to meet LeBron.”

If you could do anything, anywhere right now, what and where would that be? “I would say being on a vacation somewhere like the Bahamas. I always hear other families talking about vacation, but I never did any of that stuff. It would be nice.”

The talent you wished you had: “I wish I had a talent for art and drawing. People say you can learn, but I don’t know. I’m always drawing stick figures.”

Why you joined the Army: “I joined to be able to go to school, and I joined for my mother. I was hoping that once I got established, I could bring her here.”

Why you chose to be a mortuary affairs specialist: “Honestly, I thought this job would look good (on a resume) once I became a civilian. I wanted to be an FBI agent once I got out, and I thought this job would be something out of the ordinary that would make me a more attractive candidate. Other people, however, told me this job wouldn’t help me. I no longer have ambitions to get into the FBI.”

The MOS you prefer: “Human resources specialist (MOS 92A). Everyone tells me they see me doing that MOS, and I feel like it will be a good fit for me.”

What you expect out of leaders: I expect my leaders to not just dictate but to be examples. There are some people who like giving orders, but they just watch and never get involved.”

What you expect from your peers: “I expect them to look out for one another.”

What you would change about the Army: “I would give us pay raise. With us (Soldiers), I feel like it is so different than that of a civilian. We have to do things civilians don’t have to. For example, we’re on duty 24 hours a day. Why do we get so little pay?”

Best thing about the Army: “The best thing is being able to meet a variety of people. Everybody comes from different backgrounds; you learn them and you have to work with them.”

Worst thing about the Army: “I would say the lack of organization. Sometimes we do a lot of sitting and waiting. They’ll say, ‘At 1300 hours, we’re doing this.’ When 1300 comes, it doesn’t actually happen. That’s why I liked basic training. If we were going to do something at that time, we actually did it.’

Where you see yourself in five years: “I would have my bachelor’s degree in criminal justice and be working as a child protective services agent.”