Recognizing_Civilians_Clayton.jpg

Hometown: Gary, Indiana

Time in current position (and military if served): 34 years including military time

Position: Chief of the Training Development Element for the Air Force’s 345th Training Squadron

Duties: “I amresponsible for the development of the initial skills and supplemental courses for the Air Force Air Transportation, Traffic Management and Services career fields.”

Biggest accomplishment in your career: “I completed Air Command and Staff College.”

Biggest personal accomplishment: “I also completed two master’s degrees in education - adult learning and management.”

The most-challenging aspect of your job: “Ensuring that I’m keeping up with policies and guidelines to correctly shape training for our military personnel.”

The aspect of your job you like the most: “Assisting others and ensuring their success.”

What’s the best thing your boss, co-worker or a customer has said about you? “They never have to worry about my work ethic.”

What do you feel is your strength in working with co-workers or customers?  “I believe everyone has a voice and should be heard.”

What is the best advice you give Airmen who appear to be stressing out? “This too shall pass. No problem is unsurmountable and it’s a chance to look back and realize how it made you stronger.”

Do you volunteer with the community, and if so, how? “The most I do now is make monetary contributions (because of the pandemic).”

Best memory from childhood: “Enjoying carefree life with friends    ”     

Worst fear: “Not returning back to normal after COVID-19.

What’s your favorite way to relax? “Conversing with friends and talking about anything other than work.”

Favorite saying and why: “‘It’s better to have it and not need it, than need it and not have it.’  I often tell this to anyone struggling to decide whether they should pursue higher education.”

What’s a favorite on your playlist: “Throwback rhythm and blues.”

One person you admire: “All those who paved the way for me to be where I am today.”  

If you could get a ‘do-over’ would you take it and what would it be? “I would do nothing different. My path made me who I am.”

If you could do anything you wanted at this very moment, what and where would that be? “I would love to stop working and spend quality time with my grandkids.”

When are you most satisfied? “When I’m with my grandkids.”

What are you (and your family) doing to stay sane during this more stressful time than usual? “We’re working at keeping a routine.”

What’s the first thing you plan to do when things return to normal? “I want to go shopping without a mask.”