When Camp Lee opened in the summer of 1941, tens of thousands of Soldier trainees entered through the original main gate in the woods off to the right of the current Lee Avenue gate. A portion of the old hard surface still exists.
Today’s main entrance and Military Police sentry station were built in 1961.
U.S. Army Women’s Museum
2100 Adams Ave.
Fort Lee, Va. 23801-2100
The U.S. Army Women’s Museum is Fort Lee’s newest museum and is the only museum in the world dedicated to Army women. The museum honors women's contributions to the Army from the Revolutionary War to present day operations, telling their stories with more than 40 exhibits, extensive historical property archive, and research library. The museum serves as a valuable training facility; educating today's Soldier and civilian on the female Soldier’s proud history, core Army Values, and Warrior Ethos.
Audiences of all ages will find an appeal in this fascinating story.
The U.S. Army Women's Museum is located on A Avenue.
The Museum hours are: Tuesday - Friday, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.; Saturday, Sunday, and holidays, 11 a.m. - 5 p.m., Closed Mondays. Group tours and researchers by appointment.
Gift shop on site operated by the U.S. Army Women's Museum Foundation. The Foundation is the museum's supporting entity and may be contacted for information or donations at (804) 734-4636 or 734-3078.
Women's Army Corps Memorial
In front of the U.S. Army Women's Museum is a marker commemorating Fort Lee as the home of the first regular Army Women's Corps Training Center. Dedicated April 12, 1992 the plaque reads, in part: "Between June 14, 1948 and May 26, 1954, more than 19,700 women enlistees, re-enlistees, and reservists completed basic training at this site. Many remained to receive leadership or specialist training."
The plaque was presented to the Post by the Women's Army Corps Veteran's Association in honor of the 50th Anniversary of the Women's Army Corps.
U.S. Army Quartermaster Museum
Fort Lee, Va. 23801-1601
Web site: www.qmmuseum.lee.army.mil/
Since 1957, the Quartermaster Museum has preserved the history and heritage of the U.S. Army Quartermaster Corps, the Army’s oldest logistic branch. For more than two centuries Quartermaster Soldiers have fed, clothed and equipped the U.S. Army. The Museum receives more than 70,000 visitors a year, including more than 17,000 Quartermaster Soldiers who get history training. The museum’s missions are to collect, preserve, exhibit and interpret the history of the Quartermaster Corps from its birth in 1775 to the present. To this end, the Museum has collected more than 23,000 artifacts relating to the Corps' history and has assembled thousands of documents relating to Quartermaster Corps history.
The museum hours are: Tuesday nFriday, 10 a.m. n 5 p.m., Saturday and Sunday, 11 a.m. n 6 p.m., closed Monday, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day.
Reference Library/Archives: Library/archives are available for researchers by appointment. Call (804) 734-4203. Open weekdays, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m. (except Mondays, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's Day).
First Logistics Command War Memorial
Across the street from the Quartermaster Museum sits the memorial dedicated to all combat service support Soldiers who have made the ultimate sacrifice supporting their fellow comrades in defense of freedom.
Originally dedicated as a memorial for the logisticians of the First Logistical Command, the memorial was rededicated in 1992.
The command insignia was reproduced on the floor of the memorial and tells the command’s ability to fulfill its mission.
In 1864, General Grant ordered construction of a military railroad to serve the supply needs of his troops as the siege of Petersburg progressed. There are three markers which trace the route of the railroad across Fort Lee.
This was the longest military railroad developed in the Civil War, the first conflict in which railroads played a major role in supply.
One is on Mahone Avenue, another on A Avenue and a third near State Highway 36 behind the warehouse area.
During the siege of Petersburg, Meade’s Station was an important supply point on the U.S. Military Railroad. President Lincoln and his wife accompanied by General Grant and several high officials reviewed Meade’s troops on the nearby parade ground on March 25, 1865.
The review occurred just three weeks before Lincoln’s assassination (April 14, 1865.) The marker is located west of Mahone Avenue near Jesup Street.
Headquarters Army of the Potomac
During the Petersburg Campaign, (June 1864-1865) Major General George G. Meade commanded the Army of the Potomac. His tent headquarters were located at this site in the spring and summer of 1864.
There are two of these markers.
One is located at the junction of E Avenue and 38th Street. The second marker is a small concrete block which is located in the wooded area at the actual site of the headquarters.
14th Quartermaster Detachment Training Site
The 19 Soldiers of this water purification unit who were killed in a SCUD missile attack during Operation Desert Storm are remembered on a memorial here. The site was dedicated on April 20, 1991.
A bronze plaque lists the names of those Soldiers who died February 25, 1991 while serving their country during Operation Desert Storm.
The site is located on 41st Street.
The Davis House is the only building now standing which is left from World War I when Camp Lee was one of the 26 huge National Army cantonment areas. When construction began in 1917, the building was incomplete but was purchased and completed by the U.S. Government.
It served as the headquarters and residence of Maj. Gen. Adelbert Cronkhite, commander of the 80th Infantry Division (Blue Ridge Division.)
While the 80th Division trained at Fort Lee the building was known as the White House.
When Camp Lee reverted to a game preserve, Mr. and Mrs. Gordon R. Davis moved into the farmhouse. They lived in the house from 1924-1950.
In World War II, the first floor of the house served as post headquarters, while the Davis’ occupied the second floor.
The building now serves as a set of VIP guest quarters for Fort Lee.
Located near the PXtra complex, on the corner of Battle Drive and Mahone Avenue, this small shaded plot was dedicated in 1987 by the people of Fort Lee and the surrounding communities to commemorate the 200th anniversary of the signing of the U.S. Constitution. Constitution Grove offers benches for quiet reflection and a plaque placed there reminds visitors of their most precious heritage, the Constitution.
Cannons outside The Lee Club
The bronze cannon on the left of The Lee Club entrance is an 18th Century English Naval cannon.
On the right of the steps is a 15th century Spanish cannon captured by U.S. troops in the Philippines during the insurrection of 1900.
This gun was probably used against American Soldiers during the insurrection and also against the Spanish in the late 19th century.